Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is argued whether success in sports should be determined by the muscular strength of the player. Some people are adamant that being physically gifted or trained is imperative while others insist that mental strength provides more benefits for performing on the field. As far as I am concerned, physical stamina is more important than mental agility. Needless to add, mental strength certainly plays a key role in the sports person’s performance. The most apparent merit of being mentally strong is that it fosters motivation. Players, who tend to outstand their counterparts mentally, are more likely to focus on the field as they never lose sight of their cherished goal. Furthermore, mental strength bolsters self-confidence. It is general knowledge that sportsmen do not like to be defeated. Usually losing a game or not showing the best result is a bitter pill to swallow. Yet still, only strong in spirit and mentality players can admit the defeat and adopt the experience for next games. By contrast, a mentally weak person may lose heart after failing to achieve the desired result and, thus, it will further affect his performance. In spite of the benefits of mental agility, muscle strength is even more important. Physical sport is not considered to be a mind game and as such there is not much that a player can achieve by simply being mentally strong. Sportspersons who perform on field require tremendous physical strength and stamina. To illustrate, footballers need to be able to maintain a high level of intensity throughout the 90-minute game. They have to run, jump, attack and defend and all of these activities are performed by the body. Without a strong body, they cannot continue playing. Although mental stability is required for staying focused without taking focus off the goal, having motivation alone is not sufficient enough to win the game. In conclusion, players need both physical and mental powers to win a game, however, in athletic events, physical strength is a lot more important than mental ability because success in such sports depend entirely on a player’s ability to play tirelessly for the entire duration of the game.