Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good membes of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. .

Whether children should be guided by their parents to have appropriate manners in society later on is still a source of controversy. Some people, however, assert that this job is designated for schools. Two sides of this issue will be discussed as follows and I will illustrate my own point of view. Parents are undeniably indispensable in forming the characteristics of children. Since youngsters spend the majority of their childhood being with their parents, their personality traits will be unavoidably affected by the parents’ behaviours. As a result, parents are automatically responsible for guiding children to become those who can positively contribute their value to society. This is a totally natural part in child-rearing which can be seen everywhere in the world. For example, Vietnamese parents are prone to teach their children by themselves rather than sending them to kindergarten. Therefore, they can have a closer and stronger connection with their children and a better communication among family members. On the other hand, some do believe that schools are a more suitable approach to teach children how to become good citizens. To be more exact, at schools, children can learn from their teachers, who are also parents, the characteristics that are necessary for their adulthoods like hard-working or respecting others. In addition, as parents are increasingly busier for business nowadays, schools are continually changing the way they teach children basic qualities to help parents in up-bringing. For instance, by integrating unpaid community service activities into the schools’ curricula, American students have acquired responsibility as their core moral value. To conclude, it is still disputable whether who should be responsible for guiding children to become well-behaved citizens. I personally think that parents and schools are of equal importance. Children are deserved to receive instruction from both sources, as this combination will greatly benefit them.