Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the modern world, a law-abiding citizen is such a crucial value that children were born destined to be. Some people are of the view that directing their offspring to engage in the community must be ensured by the parents' duty while there is a counter - argument amongst sections of people that school is a more suitable and appropriate place to hold this responsibility. While there has been controversy being sparked among those different notions, I would maintain that both of which make a profound impact on our further life as I will show then. On the one hand, parents are the first teachers in our life and they play a vital role in forming our characteristics, habits and attitudes. It is commonly believed that children have a tendency to mimic their parents' behaviours and manners. Hence, parents who can have a more intimate and easier contact with their children will be able to teach their kids to be good figures of society by performing their duties correctly. To prove my point, if parents are virtuous residents, there will be a high likelihood that their children have had a sense of civil responsibility since early life. Moreover, home is every child's first school where children learn about their life lessons. It is necessary that love, kindness, compassion, socially acceptable behaviour be taught at home, from their closest people who know them well. On the other hand, school is believed to play a golden rule in children's life. Since most children spend a large number of hours in school on a daily basis, we expect the school to provide them with a good learning environment. In school, children are taught skills on a multitude of lessons which promotes their awareness of the significance of correct attitudes in life or of having decent morality to become a good member of society. When children gain education and various skills in school, it will help them in the future to become more of a self-reliant and self-dependent dweller. This will also empower them to contribute towards society using their skills. For example, educated children may help the illiterate individuals to read, write and how to apply what they have learnt in life. To summarize, both arguments carry equal strength and importance and neither can be refuted outright. I firmly believe that families in conjunction with school should create the best educational conditions for their offspring.