Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

We all want to raise children to be decent people. To do this, some opine that the responsibility of teaching moral values lies with parents while others argue that it is an educators’ duty. However, together, I do believe that both parents and teachers have a decisive role to play in this regard. On the one hand, some purport that the foundation of one’s character is the values he attains from his family. They contend that behavioural standards are rooted in cultures and religions which is apparently different in today's multicultural world. Therefore, it is the parent's role to instill valuable ethics in children while teachers should focus on imparting formal education to them. On the other hand, there are those who hold the view that because of today’s parents’ busy lifestyles and demanding jobs, most children have been left home without role models. Consequently, they present themselves in school without knowing about what is polite or respectful and how to control their emotions. So, receiving guidance about expected, social behaviour could be an essential part of their curriculum. Apparently, parents and teachers are the most influential people in children's lives. While children learn about moral principles at home, they learn about the importance of discipline, teamwork, and punctuality at school. Moreover, schools provide opportunities for them to learn how to engage and respect different cultures and religions. In my opinion, in fact, not only school authorities but also schoolmates play an important part in a student’s perspective about common, acceptable moralities. All in all, the argument as to whether teachers or parents should teach moral values to children has been the subject of many debates. In this regard, it is my point of view that the cooperation between school and parents is a key factor in developing adults who will comply with society’s moral standards.