Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

We have been developing our personality throughout our entire life, yet the crucial time to mould our characteristic could happen at a rather young age. Some believe it is our families that define who we will become while others argue that it is the school’s utmost responsibility to teach us morality and to give us guidance. In my own perception, I am more positive with the former. The family is the first environment that we immersed ourselves in ever since we were born. The behaviour our parents deliver and the value they convey certainly have a colossal impact on our personality. It is also a vital process for a parent to teach their child the righteous perspective toward society at the very beginning. It is like creating a masterpiece on a pure canvas before it is contaminated. For people who believe that school should be the right place to educate students into obtaining the correct attitude of their lives and having the decent morality to become a good member of our society, they put their faith in the teachers. Teachers provide standard expectations that our society has for its members, offering knowledge and ideas with less bias and less possibility of deviation from the student. It is also essential for young children to meet other people, their classmates that are from various backgrounds, in order to help cultivate their ability to cherish and respect diversity. In conclusion, both points of views have their own dispute, yet for me, trying to build a child’s characteristic until they are already studying in schools seems to be a little too slow. Many values could have been buried deep in our mind. Thus, I believe it’s our family that should play the important role for this rather than the school afterwards.