Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

As society has developed, different people have different opinions about how children should be taught the ways of living so that they can contribute their part and become good members of society. Some people think that parents should be leading from the front and some think that schools are the best place to teach these rules to the children. However, I think that parents should consider this as their responsibility instead of relying on the school to do this job. Now let us discuss if parents do this job and become successful in carrying out this task. This will not only help their children to live a good life but also teach them the rules and provide them with the guideline how to behave with juniors, respect elders, deal with day to day matters, responding to difficult situations etc. , which you cannot expect from the school to teach as school is basically associated with academics. Although they will teach children how to become good members and play their roles in the society, the time, attention, sincerity, and dedication which I think that can be played by the parents only. Schools mostly teach academic lessons and punctuality to the students. They do not fully focus on moral values a child should learn and practice and in fact, they do not have sufficient scope to do so. Parents, on the other hand, have a good chance to do it. In many cases, the kids mimic the parents and thus the parents can make some examples to teach their kids. The kids mostly look at the teacher as some outsiders who would teach them the academic lesson, not personal values. Parents spent much more time with children than the teachers do. Teachers sometimes do not know the personal choices of students and thus can’t evaluate them perfectly. Not all teachers would take the responsibility to teach the students the responsibilities of a good member of society. Schools cannot replace the role and responsibility of parents because it deals with a large number of children and each and every child has his/ her own state of mind, understanding level, thinking level and it is not possible for teachers to understand each and every child and teach him/her accordingly but the parents know their children by birth know his likes, dislikes, how he can understand etc. I would like to give my example that my parents always considered first their own role to teach me only academics lessons but also how to live life successfully as they have spent their lives and the mistakes that they have made should not be repeated by me. In the end, I would like to conclude that parents should be the leading this part of this job and should not expect this role from the school and time will tell that their efforts will not go in vain and will not only help their children but also coming generations.