Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

People have different opinions about whether it is the responsibility of parents to teach children good manners to make them a better societal member or the school could be an adequate place to learn such things. This easy will discuss about both these views on this contentious topic, followed by my own take on this matter. On the one hand, people underscoring the importance of parents’ role in making their children a good member of society assert that parents are the first teachers for their offspring. During the initial years of a child, they teach him all the basic traits such as respect, honesty, obedience and so on. Learning certain things from parents definitely assist children in building a good personality, and developing certain characteristics and principles in life that makes them a good social person. Moreover, parents act as a role model for children and they always welcome their guidance and like to walk on their footprints. In addition, parents usually know about all the likes and dislikes of their children and teach them everything accordingly. On the other hand, due to the hectic work schedule of parents, they have no sufficient time to guide their children. Then it becomes the duty of the schools to teach children everything for developing life skills. As children spent most of their daytime hours in school they could learn effectively along with some practical knowledge. For example, in schools nowadays, many volunteering sessions are organized to teach children to help the community. Participating in these events certainly assist them in learning discipline, improving communicational skills and thinking about social responsibility. In addition, these qualities and community work experience make a positive impact in their career prospects. In conclusion, it can be said that both parents and schools have equal role in developing personality and good social traits in children. It is unjustifiable to consider only one side to make children a better member of society, because both have their own significance and own way of teaching.