Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Being a good member to societies means that an individual respects to other people and obeys rules. Some people think that parents are the custodian who has all the responsibilities to educate their own children because school is where children acquire academic knowledge. However, in my opinion, both parents and teachers play an important role in a child's education. From the birth to the school begins, parents are the primary source that children learn from. During this time period, children will develop their personalities by imitating their parents' behaviours. Therefore, parents are responsible to demonstrate proper manners at home. In addition, parents should guide their children what they are expected to behave in the world. For example, we should never steal from others because this is unacceptable and immoral practice in any of societies, and we need to turn the volume down in public and to be polite when talking to someone. Not only parents, teachers at school also have influences on children. School is a microcosm of a big community where children start being socialized and establishing their interpersonal skills. At schools, kids will understand some social norms. For instance, a child will be taught to be punctual and arrive to classes on time, which will make them value other people's time even when they grown up. Moreover, through working with peers from a verity of backgrounds, children will learn to be empathic and know how to contribute. These are something that a child cannot really learn at home. To conclude, in order to educate children to be a valuable member to society, both parents and teachers have an indispensable role in shaping the character of children.