Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this

Home and school are the two institutions that impact moral education and virtuous behaviours in children. Lately, some individuals opined that guiding children on how to be good ambassadors of the society should be the sole responsibility of the parents or guardians while others believe that it is solely the onus of the school to do this. In this essay, I will discuss my opinion on these two views. I believe that it should be a joint responsibility of both parents as well as the school to inculcate relevant character in the young ones. On one hand, it is understandable that parents should be responsible for imbibing good moral habits into their wards because they brought them into the world. Parents are the first role models of their offspring and they replicate whatever character traits they see in the parents. Also, children spend a great amount of time with their parents so they have more hours to build up good character patterns in the children. On the other hand, the school can play a crucial role in moulding a child's character. To start with, peer group interactions at school makes a child highly social and he learns a lot of what is wrong or what is right from his fellow students because the level of interaction at school is higher than that of home. In addition, many competitions are held in school to teach a child to accept defeat and to appreciate success; some talks about good manners, well-behaved children and so on are given in school in order to reinforce good social conduct. Lastly, students observe the teachers closely and learn a lot of social value from them. Teachers admonish children for wrong behaviours and praise them for good gestures. In my own opinion, charity begins at home, in other words, the parents or guardians are the first teachers and instructors a child come in contact with, therefore the home should be the primary level of impact while the school should continue to buttress the good teaching children receive from guardians. In conclusion, school is the haven of academic learning, but learning should not be limited to only academic and this is where social learning comes in. Parental instructions are as important as academic teachings and both important learnings are pivotal to instilling good morals in children in order to make them become good members of the society.