Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

It is thought by some people that for toddlers to be useful and contributing member of society, it is essential that their parents should impart good moral values in them. However, others hold the narrative that schools are responsible to make a child, a good member of society. In my opinion, the primary responsibility lies with parents to ensure that their children, when become adults, would be an affable, and contributing part of society. This essay will illustrate both the arguments. On the one hand, it is believed by some segments of society that the initial years of upbringing and how parents instill social values in their children are essential ingredients in shaping up their future and personality. It is no secret that parents are supposed to be the initial source of guidance for their children. Hence, it is imperative that parents should become good role models by instilling useful social and moral values supplemented by language skills. For instance, evidence suggests that children upbringing in the initial four years impacts their brain development, as they do tend to imitate habits of their parents and pick ideas during this phase. Therefore, parents should provide their children with an environment which promotes positivity. On the other hand, some people put forward the argument that schools are responsible for making children learn values important to become a good member of society. Rightly so, there is no denying that schooling plays a crucial role in determining the future of youngsters. Furthermore, children tend to be impulsive and their gullible nature makes them vulnerable to exploitation by their peers and senior school students. To cite an example, research conducted on criminals revealed a startling fact that a vast majority of convicts have imitated bad habits from their peers during school life and later on these negative instincts compelled them to commit crime and resort to unlawful activities. In conclusion, although school plays a vital role in making youngsters become a helping and positive member of society by ensuring that their peers and school fellows do not turn them to negative activities, i am of the opinion that major role is to be played by parents by raising and rearing them in an environment which encourages children to be generous and kind to others.