Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

It's generally considered that teaching small kids to become good citizens is an unwritten duty of parents. But others claim that schools, where there are properly trained teachers and sufficient learning materials, are the best places for children to learn to become future model citizens of every societies. In this essay, I'm going to look at both sides of the coin and give my own opinion at the end. In the defense of the people who think that parents should be the one to teach their kids manners and behaviours, it's been pointed out that it's an unwritten duty for the parents to do so because they are the natural guardians of their sons and daughters as well as they are the people who spend the most time with them. It's certainly agreeable that a father and a mother are the natural protectors of their children and therefore, in theory, should teach their kids to become good citizens so they can better protect themselves and their children when they get older. Another fact is that parents are always the people who spend the most time with their children (especially when the children are still young and dependent). It's been scientifically proven that children will copy their parent's behaviour and how the children will be in the future is greatly impacted by how their parents raise them up. For example, in a household where the parents always eat healthily, there's a higher chance the children will continue to view eating healthily as a vital option when they grow up. Regarding the opinion that school is a better place for children to learn to be good members of the society when they grow up, there are many points supporting this statement such as in schools there are teachers and equipments specialised in teaching and training for the children, or simply because school and education centers were created to be a place to study and to learn. More particularly, it's absolutely true that schools were introduced in the first place to teach young citizens of knowledge and manners. Nowadays it would be crime to prohibit a child from going to school. School is undoubtedly a very important part of our society, since it's the place to nurture and raise future generations. Schools and education centers also have specialised teachers and equipments, which are highly efficient in terms of teaching children to become good citizens. For instance, a teacher who is specialised in an education area will unquestionably teach children much better than the parents who are always occupied with their own jobs, personal issues, relationships, . . . . In conclusion, it's undeniably true that both the parents and the education system play a vital role in a child's grow up stages. In my personal opinion, I think that the 2 places are equally important and children needs to learn from both places in order to become great human beings. Kids cannot just go to school without learning from their parents or the other way around, both have to depends on one another to nurture a future member of the society.