Some people think that libraries are not important, while others think that they are important.

Ever since the advance of the Internet, public libraries have lost their importance. Some people opine that libraries are unnecessary, while others think that they are still significant in the modern world. In my opinion, libraries have lost its value in recent days. This essay will discuss why it has lost its importance. First of all what is the primary function of public libraries? It has a huge collection of books and magazines where people can find information related to various topics and grow their knowledge. Individuals won't be able to purchase all the books that they need to understand a certain topic, that will fill the entire house. Instead by visiting public libraries, people can just get the knowledge that they need without owning the books forever. Once the knowledge is obtained, books are just things that occupy additional space. By borrowing it from the library, one single book benefits multiple members. In addition, it provides a quiet environment where the readers can immerse themselves in books. On top of that, seeing a group of people reading actively, motivates you to read as well. However, with the recent advancement in the Internet and online applications, all the information needed are readily available on the Internet through various applications like google, e libraries, forums, etc. It saves plenty of time taken to travel to a public library and are just a few clicks away. Furthermore, one doesn't have to search through several books to get the specific information required, online applications like google does it for us. It provides precise results by searching all the forums available on the Internet in the entire world. This saves a plenty of time. To conclude, though the public libraries provide multiple reasons for avid readers to visit and read in a calm environment, material available on the Internet provide all the benefits provided by a public library and saves precious time as well. So public libraries are losing their significance over the Internet.