Some people think that in order to deal with the problem of congestion in cities privately owned vehicles should be banned in city centers, while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution. discuss both sides and give your opinion

Some believe that the solution of traffic jams in cities can be cater by banning private own vehicles while others is of the view that this is not the solution of the problem. In my opinion providing alternate cheap means of transport can be the solution. The congestion on roads can be stopped by curbing the use of private vehicles. Nowadays, everyone owns car in urban centers and frequent use of private mean of transport results in an increased in number of motors. Even for the short distance, prefer to travel in their own cars. For instance, in Karachi according to the report of the Asian Development Bank the number of vehicles have been increased two-fold; consequently, increase in traffic jams and pollution in city center can be observed in center of city. I believe that stopping the use of private motors will not have any positive impact in city center. Banning the private motors is not the real time solution for the traffic congestion. Most of the commercialized buildings and offices are located in center of the city and working force need means of transport to reach to their destination on time therefore, they opted the use of private motors. However, if the alternate means of transport such as public buses, cycles and mass transit is promoted that would have positive impact on reducing the numbers of vehicles on roads whereas, road infrastructure need to be maintained in urban areas as well. For example, in Taiwan sidewalks have been promoted and use of bi-cycles have increased widely by the masses for travelling that results in the decreased traffic jams and pollution reduction. In my opinion, alternate means of travel should be promoted by government. In a nutshell, banning vehicles is not the actual solution whereas, road congestion can be reduced by improving the public transports and other means of travel such as bicycles and bullet trains.