Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts, and that this money could be spent elsewhere.

Art is a form of human creativity. However, some citizens believe that national spending on the arts is unnecessary and the budget for it should be allocated for other sectors. This essay will explain why I believe it is not true and deliver some supporting facts and opinions related to it. First, focusing on the arts is not wasting money. A unique form of arts in a country attracts tourists, which means it can increase the national income. It has also become an identity for a nation, for instance, Chiang May with its temples and Bali with its traditional dancing. Second, spending the money elsewhere does not mean that the ministry should ignore art, as long as there is a balance allocation for other segments, namely, education, sports, infrastructure, or anything else. I am certain that if a country only focus on one sector and ignore the others, it cannot become a well-developed nation. Although developing creative sectors is not as urgent as maintaining the infrastructure, its existence is necessary to enhance the level of tourist awareness to visit that place. It means, the government’s spending on art is a form of investment for supporting some potential places that not only be able to increase national revenue, but also allow people around to make a living from its impact in that district. To sum up, although some people think that money allocated for the creative development in a country is unimportant, in contrary, I personally believe that it is wrong in some cases. Making a proper spending between arts and other sectors is important.