Some people think that best way to reduce the crime is to give Long prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

It is asserted by many people that imprisonment for long time is lucrative method to lower the crime index. Conversely, some individuals opine that to decrease the crime figures, there are many other ways. This essay will intend to analyse both the views along with my perspective which relates to former statement as long prison sentences deter an offenders to commit crimes. Initiating with the first notion which states that punishments like life imprisonment and 10 year or more than that may deduct the level of crime in the particular nation. To cite an example, the countries like Saudi Arabia with aggressive laws enable to decline the crime rate and these nations have lowest number of convicts. Therefore, strict legislations such as increment in prison sentence is the remedial action to reduce crime rate. Hence, I agree with the same point of view due to same reason. On the contrary, there is another school of thought that deem to lower the crime figures other methods like rehabilitation are satisfactory because it assist the offenders to develop moral behaviour by retrain them. It is generally seen that countries who adopts the aforementioned way, represents low crime index. Hence, by inculcating new skills and close observation helps to decrease crime rate. In conclusion, there are plethora of methods like rehabilitation that reduce crime figures but in my opinion, long imprisonment is the suitable way to deter convicts from offending crimes.