Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

There is too much debate about whether children should be learned to be more competitive or cooperative members of society. In my opinion, both behaviours are important and cooperation is more important than competition. On one hand, as we live in the very competitive society, we need to teach our children the sense of competition in a positive way. The most obvious advantage to encourage competition among children is that it makes them more creative and open minded and opens the doors for better future opportunities for them. For illustration, children work hard in the study because they compete with other classmates to receive high marks, this will help them to get a very good job in the future. Moreover, they become more independent and rely on themselves because they know that nobody else will be there to do their duties. On the other hand, I believe that cooperation is mandatory to be encouraged for many reasons. Firstly, cooperation helps children to learn from each other. For example, when I was at school team, I learned how to play table tennis with my friends and we learn a lot of skills from each other and when we play in the final round with other school teams, we get a very good score in the final. Secondly, cooperation teaches children the skills linked to sharing, as a result, they become a kind member of society. Finally, cooperation is the key component for better personality as well as prevent from individuality. To sum up, both cooperation and competition have their own advantages. However, I tend to think that cooperation should be encouraged more in children.