Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

There has been much discussion whether the extinction of certain species of plant and animal is the major environmental problem which causes the adverse consequences to all living organisms or there are other more serious environmental problems that should be considered. This essay agrees that the vanished of certain organism is more important than other environmental issues for the following reasons. To begin with, it might be claimed that the most obvious and dangerous environmental problem is an increase in air and water pollution level. This is because a rise in pollution rate could make people suffer from health problems such as asthma and bronchitis. Moreover, a research indicates that people in urban areas are more prone to suffer from health problems because they tend to spend long time outside home to commute to work or school and water sources in heavily populated cities mainly have been contaminated by chemical substances from industries. On the other hand, I would argue that the extinction of certain species of plant and animal is the more crucial problem compared to the high pollution level problems. This is because the loss of particular organisms could cause in a food chain disruption in animals, plants, and humans. For instance, if snakes, which are the top predator in wildlife, are extinct, it would result in an increase in the number of rats - snakes’ food, which are particularly known often destroy the plants in rural areas. Consequently, there would be a huge loss in agricultural products for humans and other herbivore animals. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the loss of certain organisms is far more crucial environmental issues that should be prevented and tackled by governments. The reasons are because it could cause the disruption of food chain in animal, plants, as well as people’s live.