Some people say that the government should stop TV and newspaper from showing crimes because media coverage of violent crimes is frightening people and encouraging criminals.

Criminal activities have a major impact on jeopardizing the peaceful citizens of the community. However, it is strange that though violent events frightens people, but at the same time it interests them. I stongly advocate that media coverage of such activities have negative impact on people. In this essay, I shall examine both sides using relevant examples to demonstrate points and prove arguments. On one hand, there is ample, powerful daily evidence that such news can be detrimental to vulnerable people who are more easily affected. The central reason behind this is the adverse impact of the media coverage of the killings in bomb blasts, rapes, genocides and murders often leaves the viewers and readers shocked which may have a damaging effect on their mental health. The terrifying effects of videos and images is far beyond imagination, especially on children. Besides this, excessive coverage of such atrocities, for instance, may sow seeds for same crimes in the minds of insensitive people who have criminal tendencies. They may commit similaer serious acts by taking ideas from the scandalous reporting of criminal activities. On the other hand, although there are significant downsides of coverage of violent crimes by print and electonic media, its advantages cannot be denied. This is largely because newspapers and news channels major role in spreading awareness amongst the masses. The accidents happening in one part of the world are reported to all through the media. This alerts the communities and authorities on the other ends eventually making the government and people more careful. For instance, an attack made by terrorists on public places, in one corner, will help the governments to take necessary steps, to avoid same fate in their regions, if reported timely. In conclusion, I completely agree with the statement in the question. Sure, there is a need for people to know about the criminal activities of their community to be cautious, but the way the media representation deviates the actual purpose of reporting crime news is unacceptable and must be controlled.