Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is a fact the advertisement is the backbone of the industry as without this customer reach would have been a cumbersome job. However, it is also imperative to consider the adverse impacts of the advertisements. Hence, I completely agree that advertising encourages us to buy things that are not required in our lives. Firstly, In my opinion most of the corporations are misleading consumers with incomplete or false information resulting them to purchase products which are not actually needed. This is due to absence of strict laws against false advertisement. To illustrate this, we can take an example of skin lightening creams which are available abundantly in market. These creams claim to provide fair skin tones. Although, as per my experience none of these creams can alter the skin tone in spite of that they have a huge customer base which gets deluded by their incorrect claims backed up by popular influencers and Bollywood actors. Thus, this indicates us that false advertising can lead to create customer base for useless products. Secondly, I believe misrepresentation of facts about the product in the ad is the biggest reason of creating market for unwanted products. Companies often advertises their product in a way which will be most luring for the customers. For example, I got specifically lured by advertisements used for healthy food items available in the market and are marketed as most healthy options with no harmful ingredients in it. However, I figured out that most of these healthy options have minimal healthy ingredients in it. Hence, resulting in deceiving consumers to buy unwanted products. To sum up, Advertisement is an extremely powerful tool for enterprises to create sales for their products which are not required or useful. Thus, there should be strict laws to prevent customers from getting cheated from false advertising. On the other hand, it is also a responsibility of a product company to provide complete and correct information which will allow a customer to make an informed decision.