Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Introducing and displaying your products or brands through advertisement has been said to be a major factor to buying items not needed while others believe it is a form of improving lives through new products. Advertisement has gone a long way in the developing world to bring product manufacturers close to their customers and prospective clients through forms such as media advertisement, display boards, social media, jingles and radio announcement. The wide increase in the use social media in the world today has been the introduction of product advertisement through the use of social media. The world population tends to see the platforms such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter as a place to relax and stay up to date of development around them. Through this new products are been advertised as they their surfing forcing them to pay attention and bringing them to realize there is a new product to satisfy an urgent need or demand. For example, Youtube shows you 10 seconds video of a new brand of toothpaste to help solve mouth cavity before you have access to the video you intended to view. This brings required information about the new brand to every YouTube user. Brand advertisers tend to use algorithm in recent time to help you navigate to the exact product you need as regards what you surf the internet about. This algorithm helps you get full information about different brands which enables comparison between an exhisting item to a newly produced. For example, if you google symptoms of malaria and the cure, the advertisement board on your device pops up with new malaria drugs with reviews from previous users. In conclusion, the help of algorithm to filter advertisement and introduce required information through social media platform has helped to narrow advertisers to the prospective customers reducing to minimal users buying goods not required. Personally, I feel the world has been a better place and manufacturers have been on the profit edge since the introduction of advertisement through algorithm.