Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a general view that youngsters should be required to do unpaid community work in their leisure time. I partly agree with this view and would explicate on how it can be implemented best Youngsters are a backbone of any society and engaging them in tasks related to the community is pivotal towards the growth of the local economy. Engaging the youth in community service removes the shyness that is inherent in them. The work incorporates some invaluable attributes which are of paramount importance. These skills cannot be merely taught, but can only be acquired through such community engagement. For example, if the students of a city school are sent to an old age home to volunteer, they would have the opportunity to interact with the elderly people and hear about their life experiences. This makes them good listeners and it will also make them realise the importance of patience in life. While this type of service would not only benefit the young ones, but also the elderly, since they would feel less lonely. Although, there are so many positives about students engaging in community work, it doesn’t come without its disadvantages. When this type of service isn’t recognised or properly rewarded, the students would not find it enticing to carry out such activities perpetually Hence, I would like to conclude by saying that the community service assigned to students will definitely bring about a positive effect in the society if the students are remunerated properly to make them motivated to carry out the task continually.