Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

In this era of "freedom of speech and democracy", restricting information for the sake of vague public security and national importance seems quite irrational to many when others opine that information should be available only when the authority deem them suitable for access. Both parties have their reasons for arguments, and I personally believe that scientific studies, academic arena and businesses can be greatly benefitted if all information is made open to them. To begin with, sensitive information, that could penetrate state security, lead to public outcry, hand over technologies to terrorists and facilitates corporate monopoly in the trade sector, deserves to be scrutinized before making them public. In this digital era, information spread like wildfire and for the sake of maintaining global peace, they should be delimited, according to many. For instance, if nuclear technology is shared with all nations for scientific studies, the world will soon stand on the verge of obliteration, despite an inconceivable possibility this technology possesses to facilitate the citizens. On the contrary, scientific research largely depends on available data and previous discoveries. If valuable information and past findings are not shared openly with academics and researchers, global progress will become standstill. For instance, the Internet is probably the most significant invention the modern world has produced and if this technology had not been shared by the US military, we would still be living in the pre-internet era. Moreover, clandestine information has no value if they are not implemented in the real world and thus curbing them is like slaughtering the potential for progress. Finally, world history suggests that the human race has advanced due to discoveries and inventions shared with the world as each finding went through profound modification and advancement. I thus personally favour the ideology that supports 'free information for all'. In conclusion, information has limited value when they are curbed and not shared with great minds. For the true global progress, restriction on valuable information should be debarred and let people know the truth instead of keeping them in dark.