Some people believe that handwriting is no longer useful in the modern world and should not be taught in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As technology has evolved and the internet has grown to become a part of our everyday lives, there is now a much heavier reliance on typing rather than writing. Some has argued that handwriting has become obsolete and should be eliminated from the school curriculum. Personally, I strongly disagree with both points and feel that it is a vital skill that should be kept alive even though of the technical advancements. Despite the ease and ubiquity of keyboards nowadays, handwriting still plays an important role in one’s life. Not to mention, writing by hand aids the learning and memorizing process. It happens with most of the university students that when typing notes in lecture or reviewing, it can become extremely difficult to recollect and recall that information later, whereas writing by hand has much better effect. In fact, it has been proven and widely accepted that taking notes by hand significantly boosts memory and helps in retrieval of important information later. In other words, if students relied only on typing, their learning and memorizing skill would suffer greatly. Handwriting also helps the children to write concisely and clearly, it helps them to express themselves properly, which leads to a better professional performance. It is clear although typing may often be more convenient and easier to maintain, it cannot replace the pen-paper feel and advantages. Given its continued importance, in my prospective it is vital to continue teaching writing as an integral part of every child’s education system in schools. In addition to the cognitive benefits mentioned above, there is a physical aspect too. As the simple act of holding and manipulating the pencil can hone a child’s motor skills. If they rely only on tying on computer, they will take a much longer time to develop this dexterity. Furthermore, handwriting plays a significant role in one’s personality and identity. Each person’s writing style and skill is unique. It is a valuable asset which can never be replaced by tying because it lacks the personal touch and flair. In conclusion, although typing has its own advantages but the benefits of writing by hand fairly outweighs its counterpart. Handwriting skills will aid children in the long run and in my opinion, it should be taught in the schools.