Some people believe that for those who commit serious crimes, the death penalty should be the right punishment. Others, however, think that it is not ethical to punish the criminals by killing them. Discuss the positive aspects of both views and give your own opinion.

The criminals around the world are staggeringly increasing day by day, which everyone felt the need to find solution to this problem. Some are of the opinion that, the best possible solution to this problem is by execution of the criminals, while others are against this opinion which according to them is unethical and cruel to give death penalty. In this essay, we will discuss the pros of their views in reference to the deterrence for the criminals and infringement of human rights. According to the proponent, a capital punishment should be sanctioned to those criminal who have committed a serious crime as a deterrence to prevent more crimes in our society. In other words, a legislation of severe punishment can create fear in the mind of the convicts which can prevent many heinous offence in the future. For instance, in the Middle East, they give a death penalty for all those lawbreakers who have committed an immoral offence. In those countries, they terminate the criminals either by hanging or cutting off their heads which create fear in the minds of the citizens. As a result, crimes rate in the Middle East are fewer than any other countries. So, in the view of the proponent it is not unethical to take the life of the criminals who have murdered or raped others which shortened the life of others or have destroyed someone’s life. However, the opponent views are contrasting to the opinion of the proponents whereby they strongly against the unethical killing of the culprits which is an infringement of human rights. As per the view of the opponent, every man has the right to live so giving death penalty is against human rights. Furthermore, no one can take the life of someone even if the Supreme Court has given the verdict as convicts. The best example we can corroborate to this statement is by taking the incidents of the four rapist in India, who were shot dead by the police even the before proving them as culprit. This incident took place just a month ago in Hyderabad in India where the four rapist raped and murdered in cold blood a veterinarian doctor. After this incident, they were arrested by the police for investigation but unfortunately while they were taken out for further enquiry these offenders tried to escape by attacking the police so the police shot them dead on the spot. So according to the opponent it is unethical to take someone’s’ lives whatever the offence the culprit might have done. In conclusion, the opponent are vehemently against death penalty sanction to the criminals because it directly infringes the human rights. Whereas the proponent are in support of capital punishment for the convicts who are the problem of the society. They believe that excruciating punishment will deter many future offenders. As per my opinion, I am completely agreed with the proponent because scot- freeing the culprits will only multiply more crimes in our society. Therefore, I would propose the present legislature to legislate a stringent law where the law breakers who commit a heinous crime should be executed to create fear in the mind of the convicts. Hence, we create a better world.