Some People Believe That Children Should Not Be Given Homework Every Day

Some parties argue that children should be given homework daily so that they can revise the topics at home which will help them to perform better in studies. However, many people believe that it will put /exert pressure on the students and they will not get enough time to spend with their parents. This essay will discuss both the views before deriving a conclusion. On the one side, assigning tasks every day will help a student to improve his academic performance. It enables him to revisit the topics that were taught at school, clear the doubts and make adequate notes which might help him to do well in exams. For example, a recent survey has shown that schools that enjoy good success rates routinely give assignments to students. Furthermore, parents can monitor how a student is doing in their studies and provide guidance if required. On the other side, daily homework increases the stress on a student. Most children want to play with the siblings and spend some quality time with their parents after reaching home as these activities relieve them of academic stress. Assignments force them to burn the midnight oil and can cause emotional stress, headaches and depression. Secondly, if students are always busy with homework, they will not get to spend quality time with their parents. Due to the lack of time, parents might not get adequate time to socialize with the kids and provide sufficient grooming to them. A recent survey by UNESCO has revealed that many young people who committed suicides over the past few decades had undergone chronic psychological stress. Students will not get time to play either. This can affect their physical growth and development. If children are always studying it can affect their academic performance as well because no child can focus on their studies all the time. In conclusion, I believe that excessive homework will put pressure on a child. Hence, homework should be given only on selected subjects or once in a week so that students will have enough time to relax and play.