Some people believe that annual exams are the best way of assessment while others believe that regular appraisals are better. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of both

The effectiveness of examinations as a standard evaluation tool is debatable. Some people believe that it is the preferred approach instead of continuous appraisals while others do not. This essay will discuss the positive and negative aspects of exams as a modality of assessing students. There are two important benefits of a questionnaire such as uniformity and thorough evaluation. To begin with, scholars are subjected to a common set of questions, in theory as well as practical, which prevents any kind of bias in the exam. For instance, an exam conducted by a national board will have the same questions all across the country, thereby assessing undergraduates in the same manner. In addition, all aspects of the human brain are tested, which helps in a complete assessment. To explain, various components of cognition such as memory, reasoning and problem-solving are tested at the same time. However, there are two distinct drawbacks of tests such as their conventional approach and absence of regular feedback. Most importantly, the age-old methodology tests all pupils in one particular framework. To be precise, it leaves very little scope for certain juniors, who have impaired memory, to excel in such periodical tests. Another point to be considered here is that there is no evaluation on daily basis, which leaves many of them pondering about their systematic progress. For example, with the help of presentations and interviews, they can be assessed frequently and mistakes can be pointed out on regular basis, which can help them to improve their studies and skills. The audit continues to be an important tool in the hands of various institutions. In conclusion, while the checkups have their own merits such as equal and complete assessment, they also have demerits such as being an old system that is devoid of constant feedback.