SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE IT IS IMPORTANT TO GIVE GIFTS AND PRESENTS TO FRIENDS AND FAMILY TO SHOW THAT WE CARE OF THEM. OTHERS THINK THERE ARE BETTER WAYS TO SHOW AFFECTION TO THEM.

Gifts or presents, are considered token of love by many. Distributing them among relatives or family members on certain occasions, is a common practice observed in humans. Some are citing that by giving presents, they express feeling of concern for the recipient. For some, there are better ways to express the same feeling. My essay would discuss both the viewpoints. Gifts bring joy and happiness in person’s life. Imagine a person’s wish to purchase a costly watch. Due to limited money, he/she is unable to buy it. However, same watch being given as gift to that person will bring a smile on his face. That is what people do, to see that sweet smile, they purchase and give gifts to their relatives. This proves, by doing this deed, humans show a sense of concern for each other. In addition, gifts are for persons, who feels limited while expressing the concern for others. There is no need to explain much or speak lies, to show how persons care for each other. People, who give gifts, are always true in showing concern, otherwise who would spend money to just make another person happy. In contrast, trend of giving gifts is often termed status symbol by many. Humans are giving gifts, to exhibit the wealth dominance among relatives and that is the reason why people are against this trend. A good telephonic conversation could be enough to express the concern for relatives. There is no need to spend heavily, if people are meeting loved one’s more frequently. Gift brings just temporary form of happiness in comparison to physical and emotional support, which stays for eternity. For example, imagine a situation of old parents, for whom presents are just useless. For parents, love and support from their children is sufficient to show their concern for them. In my view, gifts are useful when people want to show concern for others in a unique way. There cannot be a much simpler and beautiful way to express the gratitude for concerned person. Although, trend of giving gifts is becoming more of status symbol and is not true way of showing concern for someone.