Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion.

The concept death penalty for those who have committed crimes has always been debated upon. While capital punishment can be misused and innocent people can be framed, this law can benefit the society in the long run by creating fear and stopping future crimes from taking place. Capital punishment may seem like a brutal punishment but it does help in reducing crime rate. This is especially true if one takes a look at Saudi Arabia. Saudi Arabia has an extremely strong and aggressive judicial system. People who commit violent crimes like murders, kidnapping and dacoity often end up being charged with death penalty. Although this does sound brutal, the crime rates in Saudi Arabia are always extremely low. This is in total opposite with India, where the judicial system is very weak and there is no capital punishment as a result of which crime rates are very high. So death penalty to crimes creates a fear factor and other people are apprehensive to commit them. But I would argue that this law can be misused and the results can be devastating. Countries like Saudi Arabia and Indonesia have regularly been known to frame innocent civilians with charges of crime. Any peaceful dissent against the government for economic or domestic issues could lead to the dissenter being charged with a crime case. The dissenter could then be executed in a deadly misuse of the death penalty. Therefore, even though capital punishment does create a sense of fear among the public and help in reducing crimes. It can be misused by rogue regimes and might end up being detrimental to innocent civilians.