some experts believe that it is better to start learning a foreign language at primary school rather than at secondary

In today's modern world, language plays an indispensable role in both studies and jobs as well as during socialising. Thus, some professionals encourage the children nowadays to start learning a foreign language at primary school and claim that it will be too late for children to learn it in secondary school. In this essay, we will examine both the benefits and drawbacks of this issue. Undoubtedly, learning a totally new language is tiring and requires more time to master it. It, indirectly, increases the burden of a primary school pupil who is supposed to learn new things in a stress-free environment. If they have to learn a new language in primary school, they will be loaded with more tonnes of homework every day. In fact, more time should be allocated to study more useful subjects such as Science and Mathematics. These subjects are considered as stepping stones to a prospective job. If one day they become a scientist or a doctor, they may contribute endlessly to our nation by inventing essential drugs in combating diseases. However, there is another side of a coin always. To begin with, picking up a foreign language enables the children to develop a better foundation in a foreign language. They are more likely to speak it more confidently in front of the crowds. It is proven that children who learn a new language tend to make fewer mistakes in writing an essay. Not forgetting to mention that, they will have the ability to express things more clearly as they have a better vocabulary than those who start late. In addition, they may come across with foreign cultures when learning a foreign language In conclusion, the benefits of learning a foreign language in primary education apparently outweigh the drawbacks. I believe a person equipped with more languages is definitely needed in our society to make our country more prosperous and flourished in the decade to come.