Some educators suggest extending high-school education to four years so the students can achieve all that is expected of them. Others are against the proposal because they think students would lose interest in school and attendance would drop in the end. Write an essay to assert your point of view on this question. Use reasons and examples to support your position.

A number of scholars advocate lengthening high-school education to four years; therefore, the pupils could live up to all expectations of them. Others, however, claim the contrary, stating that institution attendees would go off the idea and, ultimately, attendance would fall. From my perspective, I support the latter, voicing disapproval of the former in that I believe extending high school education has several major drawbacks far outweighing its advantages. In the first place, it is undeniable that lectures and curriculum programs are specially designed to finely fit into three years of high school. Hence, extending school time would leave pupils an abundant amount of time which could otherwise be used for further study options namely colleges and universities. In such cases, lengthy institution attendance hours may well arouse undergraduates' boredom and tediousness; consequently, this would lead to accelerating school dropout rates. What is more, it is this idea that brings about some unexpected upheavals which have to be overcome before being applied to reality. For instance, one major problem would be the insufficiency of teachers and lecturers. Furthermore, students and parents might as well find it troublesome to adjust to a whole different educational system without any very rational reasons. Nevertheless, to a certain extent, the aforementioned proposal has several advantages that could be taken into consideration. Take, for example, one noteworthy benefit of high school education extension is that it probably puts less strain on pupils, thus allowing them to embrace the opportunities to attend more extra-curricular activities. This is somewhat more beneficial for their multidimensional self-development than devoting most of their time to studying. All things considered, while the suggestion of lengthening high-school learning could destress students and exert less pressure on them, the idea would do more harm than good as it would result in plenty of conundrums. Thereby, I hold a firm belief that we ought to carry on with our current educational system and only make changes if need be.