MANY PEOPLE WORK LONG HOURS, LEAVING VERY LITTLE TIME FOR LEISURE ACTIVITIES. DOES THIS SITUATION HAVE MORE ADVANTAGES OR MORE DISADVANTAGES?

Nowadays there is an increasing number of people who dedicate a huge amount of their lives working for extended periods, leading to almost no time left for enjoyment. I strongly believe such behavior brings more disadvantages than benefits, due to health and family issues that could emerge from this. One of the main reasons I advocate people should not work for long hours is the increased likelihood of becoming stressed to a point their intellectual performance could be affected. The lack of free time leads to a routine that has no room for leisure activities, which are essential for a healthy mind. For example, workers of the stock market are usually always connected and following the news, even on weekends, so that they can rapidly act to adjust their stock portfolio. As a result, they cannot relax and will probably face severe health consequences in the near future. Moreover, those who are employed in careers that demand longer than usual shifts will usually affect their offsprings as well. This is because most children spend the majority of their day at school, and only have weekends to share moments with their relatives. If parents spend an excessive number of hours in the office, these youngsters will grow up without many family memories. However, it is important to acknowledge those who work harder than usual are also more likely to save money and to provide better opportunities to their children, such as being able to afford expensive universities’ tuitions to them. In conclusion, even though working extra hours could lead to better financial income, and its benefits, for the family, I firmly support that workers should avoid such behavior due to its drawbacks, such as potential health issues and emotional damage that could be caused to their loved ones.