Some countries have implemented mandatory community service programmes for young people. In these programmes, children aged 16 to 18 do charity work. What are the advantages disadvantages and your opinion?

It is commonly witnessed that unpaid volunteery work is made obligatory for youngsters in order to perform duties for charity in a significant number of nations. Both merits and demerits of this trend will be discussed in the following paragraphs. One evident benefit is that such community work teaches young minds how to involve in meaningful social interactions. To be more specific, When they do duties at different public places with various kinds of people, they do not only learn how to make adjustment with them, but also come to know about their cultures. The more they socialize, the more their friend circle will increase. This habit leads to strengthen their knowledge and develope a sense of community. On the other hand, there are some distadvantages of unpaid volunteery work. The primary one is that academic performance of teenagers can be suffered. In other words, they spend majority of their time to work for charities, they will not pay attention towards their studies which is extremely important for them. As a result, they can lag behind in completing their assignments and their academic grades will eventually be decreased. Moreover, they can indulge in wrong activities such as creating violence and drugg addiction. since there can be some notorious students who use drugs, they can lure others to do the same. Sometimes there are not for their supervision. I am of the opinion that making compulsory unpaid work for adolescents is advantageous. It is evident that young people glue with sophisticated gadgets such as smart phones and tablets in free time, which are detrimental for their mental well being. When they do chairt work, they will remain away from such electronic gadgets. They can feel the part of the whole family. A recent survey conducted by an eminent sociologist Dr John Deere at Oxford university, London revealed that 56. 6% more students used less mobile phones owing to unpaid volunteery work. To conclude, it is apparent that although making mandatory volunteer work increases social network and deters students from using mobile phones, this trend impacts their study also. However, I opine that this phenomenon is over all advantageous for young people.