Some countries are introducing an additional tax on drinks containing high levels of sugar due to the negative effects of consuming large amounts of sugar on people’s health. Should governments impose extra taxes to discourage people from consuming sugary drinks and prevent negative effects on people’s health or should it be people’s own responsibility?

There are a controversy whether government enforce a higher tax on this kind of food or citizents take their responsibility. In my opinion, I strongly agree with adding tax on sweetened drinks is the better idear. On the one hand, there are an increasing number of people suffering from health problems in some countries is considered a consequence of overdrinking sugary beverages. High consumption of high sugar drinks can lead to weight gain, obesity also can contribute to heart disease, type 2 diabetes and other chronic diseases. When the government applies this policy, the high tax will increase the price of sugar drinks. Once the customers have to pay at a high price, they tend to stop buying it. Therefore, they will prefer drink portable water instead of sugar beverages. Moreover, many people will stay away from unhealthy drinks such as Coca-cola or Seven-up. It is predicted that people will choose traditional drinks which contains nutritious elements such as tea, mineral water or vegitational juice. On the other hand, the government will acquire much money from tax of sweetened drinks so that they can improve health services for victims. The clinics will be extended with full essential equiment and staff. Besides, the scientist research and develop more new effective method to treat diseases. In addition, soft drinks and other highly sweetened drinks such as cordial and fruit drinks generally provide a high number of kilojoules but few nutrients such as calcium and iron than the others. A rich sugar diet can cause weight gain, tooth decay, concentration problems – even when you are young. From what has been discussed abve, we may draw the conclusion that whenever taxes on sugar drinks are high imposed, this kind of convenient beverages will become less affordable. This way is highly appreciated to encourage people to suiter to healthier alternatives. It is predictable that the sweetened drinks industry will witness downward trend in near future once taxes are