Smoking tobacco like other dangerous drugs should be made illegal. Agree or disagree?

In recent years, smoking has indeed become a major source of concern. I believe that tobacco products should be forbidden from being consumed. On the one hand, all kinds of tobacco consumption must be prohibited due to the negative effects on individual and societal health. To begin with, those who smoke frequently may be at an elevated risk of developing several potentially fatal conditions. Without a doubt, studies have shown that various chemical components in cigarettes, like nicotine, are the primary cause of lung cancer, heart attacks, strokes, and a variety of other respiratory disorders, resulting in over six million deaths each year around the world. Second, smoking cigarettes endangers the lives of nonsmokers who are frequently exposed to tobacco smoke in the environment, such as at work or home. For example, an estimated 3, 000 Vietnamese die of lung cancer each year, and over 300 infants develop respiratory tract infections as a result of inhaling secondhand cigarette smoke from other smokers. On the other hand, I believe that smoking restriction has many major advantages. The main advantage is that it may not only assist people in living healthier lives but may also assist the government in alleviating the burden of medical care. Indeed, healthcare costs consume a significant portion of the government's budget; therefore, if fewer individuals smoke, less money would be spent on smoking-related ailments, leaving more funding for other patients. Another advantage is that smoking bans may help to reduce pollutant levels in the air. Supporters of this viewpoint argue that states and localities that have implemented non-smoking rules in restaurants and public indoor areas have superior indoor air quality than those that continue to allow smoking in public. To sum up, I believe the government should take proactive measures to prohibit the use of cigarettes because they have bad health consequences, and society benefits much from this policy.