Should parents be obliged to immunise their children against childhood diseases? Or do individuals have the rights to choose not to immunise their children?

Immunization is important. It is a preventive measure that has proven its effectiveness over the years. However, some people argue that it should not be mandatory, and parents should have a choice whether or not to immunize their children. This essay will discuss the reasons why parents should or should not have a choice in immunizing their children. To begin with, making immunization mandatory is crucial for the public’s safety. In the case of fatal diseases, giving people a choice could hinder the process of containing a possible pandemic. Ebola, for example, is a deadly virus that can take a human’s life in a matter of days, unless one has developed immunity against it after receiving the vaccination. This outcome will not be possible if one decides not getting vaccinated based on personal preferences. On the other hand, exceptions exist, especially, on narrow cases where parents are responsible and know the right medicine to their children. This includes children who have special needs that are supervised by competent doctors. Based on the previous example, if the Ebola vaccine is interfering with a child’s medication, it will not be effective, in fact, it will defeat the purpose of the vaccination, which is to save his life. Therefore, choosing not to immunize in this case lies with the child’s parents. To conclude, although mandatory immunization saves lives, it can be a threat to it, if not used carefully. Thus, some parents should have a choice to protect their children.