Should high schools provide student specialized knowledge of a certain subject, or a variety of knowledge?

There is a long-term debate between the "depth" and "width" of systematic study in regard of students. This debate can be originated from the question: what is more beneficial to students' academic and future carrier achievement? In my perspective, it is unreasonable to target at intensifying a certain academic field before the acquisition of an extensive range of knowledge. How can a student possibly know his interested field of study before establishing a myriad of knowledge framework? A student can only decide his intensive study of a certain subject after receiving an extensive variety of courses. These courses are the foundation for the students' further pursuant.  America does an extremely good job in both providing the "depth" and "width" of education in a chronological order. In the American high schools, the curriculum are designed to provide as extensive framework of courses as possible. Thus, students would have a "taste" of each academic area, either Science or Arts. During this process, students can identify the area they are personally interested, such as geography, mathematics, or design. Then when these students enter university, they will have a chance to choose their specific fields which they are fond of according to their preferences. In this ambience, both the "width" and the interested "depth" can be achieved. Besides, acquiring a spectrum of knowledge before intensifying into a certain subject also has profound implications for a certain student's future career path. Nowadays, the construction of a sophisticated knowledge framework is still significant.  However, the importance of a wide range of academic knowledge is also surging. In a certain industry, an employee has to cope with problem simultaneously related to many different areas. For example, an employee in the art auction house should not just be savvy in aesthetics and the evaluation  of a masterpiece, but also in the principle of accounting and financial management. This tendency is attributed  to the integration and cohesion of different industries in the modern world. Thus, it is advantageous for every student to first acquire an array of knowledge and then construct an adept knowledge framework. Thus, constructing a wide range of knowledge before achieving the "depth" helps students to identify their interested areas. Also, this is conducive to their future careers by putting the students in a pre-emptive position.