Scientists and the news media are presenting ever more evidence of climate change. Governments cannot be expected to solve this problem. It is the responsibility of individuals to change their lifestyle to prevent further damage. What are your views?

Recently scientists worried about climate change have urged governments to introduce measures to reduce the greenhouse gas emissions that are seen as its main cause. Simultaneously, politicians and environmentalists require individuals to make changes to their lifestyle. I shall argue that both governments and individuals should take responsibility for this problem. First and foremost, governments play a vital role since they have the utmost power to provide regulations in order to prevent climate change’s causes. For instance, they should strictly enforce laws against deforestation, which is one of the most severe elements contaminating the atmosphere and ultimately resulting in climate change. Secondly, only the cooperation among countries can ensure that solutions are successful. The Kyoto agreement, for example, tried to reach an agreement between 192 state parties on committing to reduce the greenhouse gas emission. Without such co-operating, it seems to me that efforts to reduce fuel consumption are unlikely to be effective. However, since the daily activities of human beings are the core reasons, their changing lifestyles will undoubtedly exert a number of positive impacts on the current situation of climate change. For example, people choosing public vehicles instead of the private ones noticeably cuts down on the number of gas emissions released from the fuels, which is one of the most important ways to protect the environment and tackle climate change. Moreover, without the obedience among individuals, the policies given by the governments seem impossible to be successful. Only when the humans abide by the rules is the greenhouse gas emission addressed thoroughly. In conclusion, I would maintain that only a combination of international agreement, national policies, and changes in individual behavior will succeed in preventing further damage to the environment.