Rich countries should not give jobs to the skilled workers (for example doctors and engineers) of poor countries as they are needed by their home country more than rich countries. How far do you agree or disagree with the statements given?

It is an undeniable that people tend to migrate to industrialized nations for better employment opportunities. It is also true that this phenomenon hinders the progress of their own nation in many ways. For example, it affects the availability of skilled manpower in their motherland. The issue of brain drain has always been of paramount importance. People tend to move to the developed countries for getting a handsome salary that justifies the amount of hard work they did to earn their degrees. Actually, this prospect of settling abroad lures many students to work harder at university. For example, medical education is highly expensive and requires a great deal of hard work. If a medical student is convinced that upon completing her education she can find a lucrative job in a foreign country she will be more encouraged to put in all those efforts required to be a doctor. Moreover, when skilled professionals migrate to a developed country they will get to further enhance their skills because of the opportunity to work with some of the best minds in the world. On the other hand, it cannot be denied that brain drain affects the quality of living in poor countries. For example, many doctors of Indian origin have moved to developed countries like the US and the UK. As a result, there is a dearth of qualified medical professionals in the country. This hurts the Indian health sector and puts the lives of many people at risk. To conclude, there is no denying the fact the migration of skilled human resources to developed countries hurt the overall progress of their mother country. Even so, in my opinion, people should have the right to decide where they want to work and live. Actually, developing countries can discourage this practice by providing better opportunities in their country.