Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem

It is true that a large proportion of criminals are known to re-offend after they have been released from prison. There are a number of critical reasons for this return to a life of crime; Nevertheless, there are solutions which could mitigate the problem. I believe that there are two principal reasons why numerous criminals who have served their sentences, commit further crimes when they are released back into society. Firstly, prison is popularly regarded as an institution whose purpose is to punish wrongdoers. There is a public outcry against being soft on crime, and a plethora of argue that only the full weight of the law will act as a deterrent, even though this is obviously not working. As a result, few resources are allocated to prison programs which will help ex- offenders to make a fresh start in society. Secondly, prisons are overcrowded and frequently violent places, in which the most hardened criminals influence and intimidate other inmates, and form networks to plan future crimes, such as a criminal prison gang called the PCC do in Brazil. Steps should be taken to solve these problems. One solution is reintegrating offenders back into the community. Programs which provide vocational training or academic study opportunities must be implemented in order to give prisoners a chance of rehabilitation and to find work. a number of universities in the UK and the USA, for example, offer degree programs to enable offenders to gain qualifications. Another solution is to segregate the most hazardous convicts, in order to prevent intimidation and bullying in prisons, from which offenders are released as even more expert criminals. In conclusion, while essential reasons for the rate of re-offending can be identified, required steps must be taken to implement workable solutions.