Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Several studies over the years show that a lot of our personality traits and development are affected more by the characteristics that we are born with than the experiences of our lives. Although this may hold true for upto a certain level, it is arguable to comment whether they are more influential or not. It is true that the characteristics gained at birth are deep rooted. The qualities accrued by a child in a mother's womb are the main cause for this. These may be referred to as Genes or impression. These, according to science and many cultures, define the qualities of an individual. He/She tends to pick up most of his development during pregnancy. In fact, the Indian Vedic Science claims to attribute an individual's growth in life in all aspects to the pregnancy, that is pre and post natal period of upto 2 years. Despite the above arguments, I believe the contrary. A person's personality, character, nature and behavior are a sum total of many factors. Firstly, the upbringing of a child defines what qualities he picks up. During his formative years, the education he gets and the environment at his home impacts significantly on his development. As he grows up, his company in terms of the friends he has, and the peers or colleagues too contribute quite a bit. This then defines his lifestyle and habits. Subsequently, his personality reflects his entire life's experiences. If one is not happy with this, he may also be able to change them using conscious efforts and techniques such as the Neuro Linguistic Programming (NLP). Thus, it is undeniable that some qualities are instilled by birth, however, in my opinion, life encounters and consequences are majorly accountable for one's personality and development.