Recreational drugs have some advantages for the human body, therefore, some people believe that they should be openly sold.

As the popularity of recreational drugs is increasing, many theories and studies related to them are surfacing upon accordingly. In recent times, a large faction of the society asserts that narcotic substances are advantageous for the human body, and therefore it should be openly sold. However, I do not agree with the given statement and the reasons for the same are described in the subsequent paragraphs. First and foremost, most of the people particularly youngsters consume sedatives due to the peer pressure. To explain further, usually drug peddlers sell the medicaments by claiming about their healing properties and a large number of people fall prey to such gimmicks. Although, initially drugs are consumed out of the need or experimentation, later they turn into addiction. Moreover, when a person becomes inclined towards drugs, he/she forgets about the prescribed dosage and does not feel shy to break the protocols too. To cite an example, according to research conducted by The Harvard University, USA in 2019 on the pot smokers, almost 70% of them agreed they got addicted to marijuana after they were introduced by their friends. Furthermore, prices of the recreational drugs are skyrocketing and their dependence allures person to arrange money unethically in order to consume them. To substantiate ahead, the compulsive dependency on sedatives have increased the cases of robbery, assault and murders as drug-addicts go for these ways to obtain money for drugs. To illustrate, American show named ‘Breaking up Bad’ has remarkably depicted the journey of Walter White from a chemistry professor to a infamous drug lord after he was introduced to cocaine by his former student Jesse Pinkman. Despite all of the demerits, it cannot be denied that anodynes have positive effects on human body provided they are taken under the guidance. Most of the treatments for mental illnesses such as depression, post-traumatic disorders involves extensive usage of narcotic substances. For instance, magic mushrooms are used to cure cluster headaches. To terse, I do not advocate the open distribution of recreational drugs even though they have some positive impact on human body. The primary reason corroborating my stance is enslavement of people towards drugs along with the high prices that coerces people to collect money by unfair means. Although I do not deny that many of the drugs have some advantages on human body if they are consumed as prescribed by the doctor.