Question 6. Some people claim that mental strength is more important for success in sports. Others believe that it is more important for sportspeople to be strong and fit.

It is generally acknowledged that having a great moral strength is more important for success in sports. With regard to this topic, some people take the view that sports players need to pay more attention to their health to be strong and fit. This essay will examine these two points of view. There is some truth in the former argument. Firstly, the mental strength power can help people move on from their immense pressure. Take U23 Vietnam’s football team for example, because of immature experience and less physical fit than other teams, they were judged as poor and were easily eliminated. However, they have a strong mentality and a high determination so they defeated a lot of big teams in Asian area, and in the last match, they only lost 1 point and won the second highest prize. Secondly, many untapped potentials are spurred by the strong spirit. According to many surveys, people tend to unleash great power in a moment when their spirits are growing strong, such as various football teams turning the tables and prevailing. However, I agree with the opinion that health is an important factor for success in sports. First of all, having strong health is compulsory and fundamental to being good at sports. For example, almost all athletes must complete an inspection report about their health before starting a prize to avoid burnout. This means that people who have weak physical strength have no chance to achieve high achievement in sports careers. In addition, some impressive skills require an endurance physical. In the prize, to impress the audience and judges, gymnastics athletes need to show off difficult technical moves, and to practice these skills, athletes must have a flexible body, strong stamina. Besides, taking care of health is the inevitable rule of sall sports if athletes want to be successful. In conclusion, I am convinced that mental strength not only helps people overcome the pressure but also improve some untapped potential, and having a strong health is an essential condition to practice hard skills well to success in sports.