Looking at my late grandparents’ vast farm land at a small village in Situbondo, Indonesia

Looking at my late grandparents’ vast farm land at a small village in Situbondo, Indonesia, I was amazed by the green paddy rice and realised that that all were no longer run by my family. For a long time now, we had the farm rented because no one in the family has the ability to run the business anymore. These past ten years, I decided to learn more deeply about agriculture and plant biotechnology, hoping that one day I could take care of the farm again, just like the old times. Studying agriculture, to me, is not only about to be able to take control my family’s farm again, but also to explore many possibilities that we can do to develop an advance agriculture in Indonesia. I have grown up in a situation when my grandfather passed away, and the only one who struggled to maintain the farm was my grandmother, with merely a little knowledge in the farm business. Assisting my late grandmother to maintain her farm business since I was 11 years old, I remembered all her struggles and hardships as a business woman, also as a single fighter. There were issues related to this business from the administration of water – management, environment, to pest and disease problems. By studying this degree, my aim and goal was to tackle the issues related to plant disease in agriculture.