Q: SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT EVENTUALLY ALL JOBS WILL BE DONE BY ARTIFICIALLY INTELLIGENT ROBOTS. WHAT IS YOUR OPINION?

It is ambiguous whether machines will take-away the human workforce entirely. While it is possible that labour-intensive tasks and one demanding a high level of accuracy will be gradually taken up by robots, it is unlikely that the jobs requiring human intervention will be taken over. In my view few tasks will still be carried out manually. Firstly, more and more machines are replacing humans in the realms of production, defence, and so on. Although it could be very pricey to deploy such robots, they are inevitable because of their precision, programmable nature, swiftness and other qualities, which is impracticable for humans to possess. Examples can be seen in the assembly units of electronics where machines are reprogrammed after each job for another product. Furthermore, robots are more productive than humans, which aid to curb production cost resulting more profitability. For instance, assembling a microchip, call for a consistent level of accuracy and speed concurrently, which is unrealisable manually and could be indeed costly. It seems agreeable that with the technology advancements, not only will the scope of robots increase but also their limitations. Moreover, despite of their ability to perform well, it would not be feasible for robots take-up humans in the areas demanding mental abilities, especially: testing edible items, perfumes, ability to debate or perform research work and so on. For instance, whether restoring vital components of a hovering satellite, or for delivering managerial lectures humans will be mandatory to inspect or regulate the performance of robots. Thus, it looks obvious that humans will be necessary for some jobs in the future, however their role will remain limited. To conclude, though it appears that the utility of robots will increase significantly, I believe that the interference of humans will be mandatory to overcome their limitations. Consequently, few jobs will continue to be dominated by the humans undoubtedly.