Public celebrations (National days, Festivals) are held in many countries some people say that these celebrations are a waste of money and we should spend money on more important things. Give your reasons and examples according to your knowledge and experience.

National days and festivals are considered the most and biggest events of one country, so most of them spend a lot of money on this occasion. However, some people thought that governments should spend this money on more essential things such as health, education, . . . In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement for some reasons. On the one hand, public celebrations bring people lots of advantages. First and foremost, celebrating national days reminds people of historical figures. It’s the time for them to look back in the past, feel grateful for our free world today, and have the motivation to make a better life in the future. Moreover, public celebrations also maintain our social relationship. Every festival like the Tet holiday, people who work far from home can come back and gather with their family, they also stay together to make “Chung” cake, decorate their house and prepare for Tet. Besides, I certainly believe that investing in public celebrations is irreplaceable. Public celebrations can boost the national economy effectively. For example, the DIFF which stands for Danang International Firework Festival has made a great impact on our national economy. It stimulates tourism and increases service fees like hotels. restaurants, transportations, etc. Furthermore, celebrating these events is the best way to protect our culture from disappearing. On these occasions, people often wear their traditional dresses, enjoy our customary food and the young generation will be heard about the root of their culture, they will understand and follow their traditional styles. In conclusion, celebrating national days and festivals is indispensable to our life and cannot be replaced by anything. Governments have to spend money on both public celebrations and other purposes equally.