Post-retirement, some people relocate to a foreign country or a different region within the nation.

Post-retirement, some people relocate to a foreign country or a different region within the nation. This essay will discuss the possible social and environmental reasons for this shifting and various effects caused by this migration. The decision to shift somewhere else post-working age is prompted / triggered by various social and environmental factors. High standard of living in some countries will attract elderly people. They think that the country which they are planning to move to / migrate to may be more old people friendly. Also, seniors wish to live in a place which has a low crime rate and hence certain areas or countries seem more appealing to them. Sometimes, the climate of the region where they were working might have been harsh and their body compels them to move to a place having mild and pleasant weather conditions. For instance, many people living in snow-clad regions move to places having sunny climate after their retirement. However, there are both benefits and downsides to moving to another place after retirement. After moving to a new place, they have to build their social circle from scratch. It may take a long time to find an acquaintance in a new locality. At times the new country does not match the expectation and hence causes distress in the minds of the newly arrived people. Elderly people frequently face cultural shock on arriving at different regions and they may find it difficult to cope with the new customs. For example, many aged people who migrate to the United States from very orthodox countries often find themselves lost due to cultural and linguistic differences. To sum up, many people move under the assumption that the social or climatic conditions of another country might suit them better. However, after moving they have to build their social circle from scratch, and some of them find it difficult to adapt to the new customs and lifestyle.