People are using bicycles despite the development of other modes of transportation. what are the advantages and disadvantages of a bicycle.

Even though other means of travelling are well developed, people are increasingly using bicycle. There are several advantages of bicycle as the vehicle used and few minor drawbacks. The use of bicycle as a vehicle as extreme health benefits. When general public or even the leaders use a bicycle for going to the office, it unconsciously results in physical activity which has profound positive effects on health of individuals. For example, leg muscles are excessively used while cycling, which results in stronger muscles and venous return to the heart improves. The healthy individuals can very well concentrate on their jobs resulting in better work efficiency. Another obvious benefit may be the reduction of air pollution as bicycles unlike cars or other modes of transport do not produce greenhouse gases. In todays world when pollution has become a burning global problem, the reduction of burning fossil fuels will play a pivotal role in reducing air pollution. Hence bicycles are environmental friendly. Some of the disadvantages of bicycle may be when offices are at long distances, reaching the office after cycling for hours may result in physical fatigue of employees. Consequently, they may not be able to concentrate on their work resulting in reduced performance. This is especially true for the employees above forty year age group. Moreover, few people have photosensitive skin and they can not afford to be exposed to sunlight while cycling. This exposure may result in cancers of the skin or sunburn. Hence, bicycles cannot be used by all people because of its limitations. In conclusion, use of cycles as a means of transport makes individuals fit and safe for the environment, but there are a few limitations which should be taken care of.