One of the pressing issues of these days is the problem associated with organic food shortage and every day this problem gets more and more serious.

One of the pressing issues of these days is the problem associated with organic food shortage and every day this problem gets more and more serious. Therefore, scientists started hunting through possible solutions for this problem and one of these decisions is GM food. Personally, I don’t assume that GMO food is ready for massive exploit due to the fact that it is not fully explored. To start with, GM crops have advantages as well as disadvantages, however, to my opinion, drawbacks overweigh benefits. And there’re a bunch of grounds for that, first, in light of the fact that engineering GM food is a relatively new practice, tiny is known about the long-term effects and safety. So, for instance, some people believe that GM foods have a large potential to trigger allergic reactions. This’s because they may contain genes from an allergen – food that prompts an allergic reaction. Or another example is that some researchers believe that eating GM foods can contribute to the development of cancer. They argue that due to the fact that the disease is caused by mutations in DNA, it’s hazardous to introduce new genes into the body. However, there have been no reports or evidences for these problems of GM foods currently on the market. Nevertheless, GMO has a number of handy and practical advantages, that assists in a plethora of ways. One of these profits is that manufactures use genetic modification to give food desirable traits. For instance, they’ve already created two new varieties of apple that turn less brown when cut or bruised. The reasoning usually involves making crops more resistant to diseases as they grow. Manufactures also engineer produce to be more nutritious and tolerant of herbicides. Moreover, crop protection is the main rationale behind this type of genetic modification. Plants that are more resistant to diseases spread by insects or viruses result in higher yields for farmers and a more attractive product. In conclusion, GMO is one of the attempts of researches who struggles with organic food shortage, but, despite that, there aren’t sufficient information about GM food to exploit it massively.