nowadays young people spend too much ofir free time in shopping malls. Some people think that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree.?

Globalisation, technology and media has hit the world with a greater force than we could have imagined. With these changing times, most young people now prefer spending their leisure times at malls rather than having constructive hobby. Some people believe this can have adverse effect on society, which I agree with. Firstly, most teenagers and youngsters shop either from their pocket money or their parents money, usually to show off. For example, an 18 year old girl will probably buy an expensive dress to brandish in front of her friends or a young man will get an expensive phone to display his wealth. This money if put to better use, like, education for poor or for self improvement can ensure a better society. Secondly, going to shopping malls is not just about buying things anymore. Youngsters often go to these shopping centres to try out a food chain. Doing this regularly can have adverse effects on the health of the individual. However, we are in times when an individual is judged by the external appearance rather than internal, at the first sight. Shopping malls often have better options in terms of discount and quality. Even more, there are marts with lot of positive activities. For example, most book shops in the malls allow the person to read a book in the shop for as many hours one wants to. Overall, youth spending time in shopping malls can have both detrimental and positive effects. Like most of the other changes that hit the society, ultimately it depends on the individual how to take it.