Nowadays, young people communicate with friends and family mostly through social networking sites, rather than other ways of communication like talking on the phone or face to face. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

An increasing number of people, particularly youngsters, meet and talk to their friends instead of having phone or in person conversations. In my opinion, this is a negative development which can lead isolation and misuse of social networks causing unpleasant problems later on in life. One serious problem that can arise from young generation socializing online is that it can lead to isolation. Before the Internet, the youth would frequently go out to meet friends, for example in cafes, bars and parks, whereas now they prefer to stay at home alone, chatting online. As a result, they are starting to spend the majority of their time alone at home in their room without meeting their fellow friends and household members. Isolation of this kind may sometimes lead to the depression and other serious issues too. Another issue is that meeting people online can be risky for young people. In other words, some users of social networking sites can assume fake identities online as well as hide their true characteristics. This is especially true for adolescents who are impressionable and can be lead into harmful situations. For instance, in 2015, a lot of teenagers were persuaded to become a member of terroristic groups because of using social networks inappropriately. Moreover, as this interaction is online, parents have no way of monitoring and protecting their from the above mentioned unwanted circumstances. In conclusion, although it has become more popular and common for the young part of the population to keep in touch with close people through social networks, it has brought too many problems to consider it as a negative development.